Frequently Asked Questions

Who is the RCIA for?

RCIA is for

  • Adults who want to be baptised
  • Baptised Christians of other faith denominations who are interested in becoming Catholic
  • baptised Catholics who have not completed full initiation
What is the RCIA Journey?

There are four stages to the RCIA journey.  Each stage concludes with a community ceremony called a Rite, which acts as a starting point for the next stage of the journey.  At each Rite those on travelling the journey affirm their intention to proceed to the next stage while the community commits to supporting them on their journey

What am I expected to know?

There is no prior knowledge needed. Your faith journey is a time of formation that is much more than education. Faith formation is a time for you to grow in the awareness of your relationship with Christ, with God, and with the Catholic Church. There are no tests; there are no grade.

How does it work?

You will journey through the stages of the RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults) process. The RCIA process offers a way to grow in knowledge of Christ and the Catholic faith in company with others on a similar journey. Within the process you will explore all facets of the Christian life.

How long is the process?

Ordinarily the process takes at least one liturgical cycle, that is close to 12 months, culminating in reception of the Sacraments of Initiation at the Easter Vigil – Baptism, Confirmation and Eucharist. This length of time is not so that one can ‘learn all doctrine’ although doctrine is one part but to acquire values and a way of living. It takes 12 months to hear the teachings of Jesus Christ in one cycle of the liturgical calendar. This ‘becoming’ takes a lifetime.

Most parish groups start the RCIA process mid-year (May-June) and journey into the following Easter when you will be received into the Church. The process then continues for a further fifty days concluding at Pentecost

What is the process of becoming a Catholic?

The process for preparing and welcoming new members into the Catholic Church is called the Rite of Christian Initiation of adults (RCIA). This process takes place in a parish community within your local vicinity where you will join a group of other enquirers. The priest, catechist, and sponsors within the parish community will accompany you through this process, guiding and supporting you and answering your questions as they arise. Journeying with others will help you witness and share in the life of the Church.

Major Rites and Stages of the RCIA Process

The initiation of new members into the Church is a gradual process allowing enquirers time to grow in faith and become full participants of the Catholic community.There are four stages in the RCIA process, each one concludes with a community ceremony, known as a ‘Rite’ which acts as a starting point for the next stage.